Audra McDonald wins Drama League award for Distinguished Performance in ‘Porgy and Bess’

Audra McDonald


Audra McDonald took home the top acting honor earlier today  at the 78th Annual Drama League Awards ceremony, where she was presented with the Distinguished Performance award for her role in The Gershwin’s Porgy and Bess.

The actress beat out both male and female nominees, including Angela Bassett, Samuel L. Jackson, Blair Underwood, and co-star Norm Lewis for the coveted acting honor.

First awarded in 1922 and formalized in 1935, The Drama League Awards are the oldest theatrical honors in America. They are the only major theatregoer awards chosen by audience members — specifically, by the thousands of Drama League members nationwide who attend Broadway and Off-Broadway productions.

Some experts are predicting that McDonald is on track to take home her fifth Tony Award for her lead role as Bess.



’12 Drama League Awards: Sam Jackson, Angela Bassett, Leslie Odom Jr, Condola Rashad, and more nominated

Audra McDonald Eyed for Aretha Franklin Biopic 

Broadway’s “Porgy and Bess” Cast Interviews 

‘Porgy and Bess’: Watch David Alan Grier, Audra McDonald Discuss The New Play [Video]