Posted on 23 May 2012   Awards

Samuel L. Jackson to host the 2012 BET Awards

Samuel L Jackson has been confirmed to host the 2012 BET Awards, which will air live July 1st on BET from LA’s Shrine Auditorium. Nominees for the Best Actor award are Don Cheadle (“House Of Lies,” “The Guard”), Common (“LUV,” “Hell On Wheels”), Idris Elba (“Luther”), Kevin Hart (“Laugh at my pain,” “Think Like a Man”), and Denzel Washington... Read More »
Posted on 18 May 2012   Awards, Theater

Audra McDonald wins Drama League award for Distinguished Performance in ‘Porgy and Bess’

Audra McDonald took home the top acting honor earlier today  at the 78th Annual Drama League Awards ceremony, where she was presented with the Distinguished Performance award for her role in The Gershwin’s Porgy and Bess. The actress beat out both male and female nominees, including Angela Bassett, Samuel L. Jackson, Blair Underwood, and co-star Norm Lewis for the... Read More »
Posted on 01 May 2012   Awards, Theater

Tony Awards 2012: Norm Lewis, David Alan Grier, Audra McDonald and more nominated!

The nominations are in! The American Theater Wing has announced the nominees for this years’ annual Tony awards celebration. The organization heavily nominated the cast of The Gershwin’s Porgy and Bess. Most noticeably absent were nominations for black plays such as The Mountaintop, but there were a few surprises from other productions like the Kenny Leon-directed Stick Fly. The... Read More »
Posted on 24 April 2012   Awards, Theater

2012 Drama League Awards: Sam Jackson, Angela Bassett, Leslie Odom Jr, Condola Rashad, and more nominated

Nominees were announced today for the 78th Annual Drama League awards. Sister Act‘s Raven-Symoné joined Drama League nominee Megan Hilty and Justin Long as co-host to announce The 2012 Drama League Nominees in various competitive categories for excellence in theater. DISTINGUISHED PERFORMANCE AWARD NOMINEES Angela Bassett, The Mountaintop Samuel L. Jackson, The Mountaintop Leslie Odom, Jr., Leap of Faith Condola Rashad, Stick... Read More »
Posted on 18 April 2012   Awards, Events

‘In Living Color’ Cast Honored at 10th Annual TV Land Awards

The cast of the ground breaking 1990’s sketch comedy series In Living Color was honored at the 10th Annual TV Land awards last week in New York. Tommy Davidson, Marlon Wayans, Keenen Ivory Wayans, Kim Wayans, Jim Carey, Shawn Wayans, T’Keyah Crystal Keymah, and Kely Coffield Park were all in attendance. Sadly, Damon Wayans Sr was noticeably absent. Viewers... Read More »
Posted on 21 March 2012   Awards

James Earl Jones to Receive Honorary Degree from Juilliard

James Earl Joneswill receive Juilliard’s Honorary Doctor of Fine Arts for his extraordinary career in film and theater. Julliard will award the legendary actor at it’s 107th Commencement Ceremony on Friday, May 25, 2012 at 11 AM in Alice Tully Hall (Broadway at 65th Street, NYC). Juilliard President Joseph W. Polisi will read special citations and present the honorary... Read More »
Page 8 of 15« First...«678910»...Last »